Taking Up Causes for ‘The Greater Good’

There are some people who would say that I am apathetic, indifferent and cold-hearted, simply because I take very little interest in social or political problems. I admit that, in all honesty, I have little regard for so many of the ‘social justice’ or ‘activist’ causes out there. But is this really a bad thing? Why must I concern myself with activities that I am not interested in?

‘Because it is the right thing to do!’ some people might say, or ‘because you have a duty to your community!’ others may say. Firstly, there is no such thing as a ‘right’ thing to do or a ‘duty’ so to speak. Both of these words are just that – they are words. They do not actually exist, and they are subjective concepts whose meaning is determined largely by society – however the terms can also be defined by an individual. I have my own ideas about ‘right’ and ‘wrong’, or on what constitutes ‘duty’ or ‘obligation’ – but since my notions of these concepts differ from the mainstream, they seem to be viewed as being ‘bad’ or ‘immoral’ – two more concepts that are subjective and have no tangible, objective meaning. In other words, I have no inherent obligation or duty to anyone, and words such as ‘good’ or ‘bad’ are merely words whose meaning is defined by an individual. There are no physical laws that say there is an objective ‘good’ or ‘bad’, just as there are no physical laws saying I have a duty or obligation to anyone.

Secondly, and I have mentioned this before, why must I concern myself with matters that do not interest me? If someone wishes to take up a cause then they will do so, but why must I join this ’cause’ if I do not feel any attachment to it? Most would say that this makes me apathetic, and perhaps they are right, but why must I sacrifice my own time and energy on a ’cause’ that doesn’t even interest me? Because it is the ‘right thing to do’? As I mentioned above, there is no ‘right’ or ‘wrong’ action. Therefore, I view my indifference towards the world as being justified and ‘right’. Simply because the majority of people in the world disagree with me does not make their view ‘right’.

