On Rejecting both the terms ‘Left-Wing’ and ‘Right-Wing’

The terms ‘right wing’ and ‘left wing’ didn’t even exist until the French Revolution. Some might say that this is because before the French Revolution there were not a wide variety of opposing/contradictory political opinions – therefore there was no need for a ‘right’ or ‘left’ classification system. I personally dislike being classified as either left, right or center. All three of those positions have so many different ideas, themes and such that it seems like a stretch to simply group them under one category – namely ‘left’ or ‘right’. Especially because the ‘right’ wing in America differs greatly from the ‘right’ wing in Europe – just as the ‘left’ American Democrat Party differs greatly from the ‘left’ wing Marxist movements. In other words ‘left’ and ‘right’ wing are extremely arbitrary terms, and to be classified in either category would seem to imply that I somehow belong to said category – when in reality I dislike both viewpoints and would rather not be called ‘left’ or ‘right’. Not to mention that when one is classified as ‘left’ or ‘right’ – a whole series of connotations, presumptions and other characteristics associated with a certain political spectrum are automatically thought of in association with the subject who was classified. I have my own political beliefs of course, but I’d rather they not be associated with terms or groups such as left, right, center and so on.

In the same way that individuals like Nietzsche or Crowley are not classified as ‘left’ or ‘right’ – I too hope that my own views come off not as being pro-left or pro-right, but as a radical critique of the political spectrum in general. I also do not identify as ‘centrist’ because that once again implies I hold a certain position relevant to the ‘left-right’ spectrum. Since I reject the ‘left-right” spectrum, I also reject the term centrist, since the latter is contingent on the former.
